Health/Beauty

Hot oil treatment: Hair growth & Thickness

 

FullSizeRender-5 copy 2
Under light (night)
IMG_7119
Natural light (morning)

My sister recently got me into DIY hot oil treatment at home. Finally we’re on the same page in life, haha. Hair masking is nothing new to me since I tried mayo+honey, avocado+honey, and 100% cold press coconut oil mask in the past. They worked for the most part, but I was tired of the mess I made walking around the house with drips of this and that on my floor. This is my first time trying out hot oil treatment (meaning heating it up in the microwave prior). I have to say, the results are way better and last longer. For an entire week, my hair is soft, shiny, and less frizzy. I don’t like to comb my hair often and about 2-3 times a week average, I will actually touch a comb. My hair is naturally straight and has a slight wave when it wants to. I don’t use hot hair tools or styling products such as straightener, blow dryer, hair spray, mousse, leave in conditioner, or tease combs. I just shampoo, condition, and air dry. Is that still consider ‘lady-like’? I like minimal and natural maintenance. I don’t like to bleach or color my hair because experiences from the past, it is such a hassle. Use the wrong products and your $200 hair cut + colors goes to shit. I’m trying to regain my 6-year-old virgin black/brown tone hair at its healthiest form 😦 Why must women find it so relieving to change up their hair when something drastic happens in their life, damn :/ That’s the story to the sad ending of my 18″ beautiful and healthy hair. *Sigh*

What you’ll need:

  • 2 teaspoon extra virgin olive oil (evoo)
  • 2 teaspoon castor oil (cold press)
  • 5 drops 100% pure argan oil
  • plastic bag
  • glass microwaveable container

***These are my personal preference and more than enough for medium length hair. My hair is a cross between thin and slight volume, so measurements varies from different length and volume of your hair. Make enough to saturate your hair from roots to tips.***

Directions:

  1. Microwave evoo for 30 second and let it cool off (5 minutes or until cool to the touch)
  2. Add castor and argan oil. Stir to mix.
  3. Section hair and apply to bottom half of hair. Concentrate on tips.
  4. Apply to scalp and entire hairline. Massage into scalp. (If you have oily scalp, I suggest to skip or apply just a lithe with finger tips)
  5. Make sure hair is saturated.
  6. Cover and tie bag over head.
  7. Keep sealed for 30-45 minutes.
  8. Shampoo and repeat if necessary to remove all oil.
  9. Condition hair ends (optional)
  10. Rinse with cold water. Air dry.

Benefits:

Olive oil/evoo: It has antioxidant properties and it can aid flaky scalp. It helps to lock in moisture, adds softness and shine, resulting to a healthy hair. Properly condition your hair, which will likely lessen the chances of split ends (with some exception such as the use of hot tools, coloring, bleaching, etc.) Healthy hair begins at the scalp!

Castor oil: Mostly consists of a triglyceride of fatty acids. It contains vitamin E, omega-6 fatty acids, minerals, and proteins. Why do you think avocado is such a hit when it comes to skin and hair care?

Argan oil: Loaded with nutrients and vitamins to help increase blood circulation. Proper blood circulation in the scalp is essential for hair growth.

Hot oil treatment: Restore moisture balance in the hair. Depending on the type of essential oils you are using, it helps strengthen hair. Hot out treatment moisturizes scalp to increase blood circulation. Bottom line, hot oil treatment once a week provides strength, nourishment, shine, and less to no split ends.

 

 

Leave a Reply

