DIY-at-home

Toilet “Breath mints” Fizzies

 

FullSizeRender copy

INGREDIENTS:

  1. 1 cup baking soda
  2. 1/4 cup citric acid
  3. 1/2 teaspoon vinegar
  4. 1 tablespoon hydrogen peroxide
  5. 15 to 20 drops essential oil
  6. Sheet pan •
  7. Parchment or wax paper
  8. Measuring spoons

DIRECTIONS:

  • Mix baking soda & citric acid together into a bowl. Using a fork, break down the clumps of baking soda. You can find the citric acid in the canning department (where they have mason jars) at Walmart, a little under $4 a container.
  • In a separate container, mix vinegar & hydrogen peroxide. Drop by drop, add it into the bowl of baking soda & citric acid. It’s important to add a little at a time or you will end up with a mess.
  • Add your essential oil at this point and mix together.
  • Using a teaspoon measuring scoop, spoon some of the mixture and gently tap onto the baking sheet with the wax paper. *TIP: Wet the teaspoon with a little of the vinegar and hydrogen peroxide for easy transferring to the wax paper. Scoop and press against the side of the bowl for easy shaping.*
  • Let it dry for 24 hours. Transfer into a container & VIOLA you are done 🙂

Recipe & Direction Credit

We all have those funky ‘smell’ that lingers a little too long in our bathrooms when we do business. Even with the vent running during and after the fact, it just seems to linger a little longer than usual. You can use candles, air spray, perfume, clorox, one drop, or maybe even random hair spray products just to make it “go away”. Unlike some people who seem to actually like the smell of air spray & candle methods, I cannot stand them because I have bad allergies to synthetic fragrances and it just feel “musky” to me. Maybe that’s just me?

From my previous post Welcome Spring, I rely on baking soda like crazy for my home. Not only does it do the job, but it does not bother my sensitive nose. Plus, I happen to really love natural things 🙂

I mentioned that since moving into our new place, I made the decision to use more natural products to keep the home clean. One thing I really like about a home is that it smells “simple, clean, and green.” So I started getting back in my Pintrest account and started pinning like mad. Once I bought me my first box of baking soda, I started to obsess over the different things I could do with it. First thing I looked up “Baking soda DIY bathroom” and comes up “Toilet Fizzies.”

Toilet fizzies are pretty much little bath bombs, but for toilets. I like to think of them like toilet breath mints because they really do freshen up the unpleasant musk, haha. **Little irrelevant sentence here. Maybe I can try to experiment a little and actually make bath bombs and play around with different scent and carrier oils**

This is by far my favorite recipe because it’s so simple and I can always increase each ingredients to make more than what the original recipe can. You can also change up the scents to whatever floats your boat. Add more drops of essential oil if you would like the scent to be stronger. I prefer mines to be just a slight faint smell and enough to take away the lingering smell.

I know people use lysol or those artificial air freshener, but when they are mixed with ‘your business’, they leave a weird smell in the air that just announce to everyone what you were just doing. Yeah, I know “everyone poops”, but must you let everyone suffer from it? No, GIIIRL! haha

HINT: Drop a tab before using the loo, flush, then drop another tab when you are done. i find that it really helps when I do it this way especially when the vent is on.

Leave a Reply

