DIY-at-home

Welcome Spring

IMG_7102

Today is officially the first day of Spring 🙂

To most it means warmer clothing, park dates, warm weather days, and fresh air. For me, it means spring cleaning & allergy season. Don’t get me wrong, I have been looking forward to spring. It’s because I could not stop stressing about the gas and electric bill sky rocketing anymore due to the heater and hot water usage haha. I also don’t necessarily resort to these “cleaning” method only during spring season because I use them year round regardless. I have really bad allergies when it comes to overly perfumed products, so it only seems fitting to keep it simple, less chemicals, and DIY.

If you are allergy prone like myself then I hope you find this post helpful and a relief. Since moving into our own apartment, I found the opportunity to start from scratch and really keep things green and minimal. I only stock up & use these SIX products to clean almost everything in my home and I do not regret it one bit.

  1. Cleaning white vinegar
  2. Citric acid
  3. Pure lavender essential oil
  4. Hydrogen peroxide
  5. Fresh lemons
  6. Pure baking soda

The possibilities are endless from your kitchen down to the nitty gritty bathroom. Here is a list of where I love using this hardworking team:

Kitchen:

  • Lemon + Vinegar = Garbage disposal deodorizer
  • Vinegar + Baking soda = Sink scrubber & to unclog
  • Baking soda paste = Oven scrubber

Bathrooms:

  • Cut fresh lemons = room freshener when left on counters
  • Vinegar + Hydrogen peroxide + Baking soda + Essential oil + Citric acid = Toilet fizzies
  • Baking soda + hydrogen peroxide + dish soap + water = Toilet bowl cleaner
  • Baking soda + vinegar = Tub scrubber

Carpet:

  • Baking soda + essential oil = Carpet powder before vacuum
  • Vinegar + water = Spot cleaner or use with carpet steamer spot treatment

Laundry:

  • Vinegar + Baking soda = Washer deodorizer

***Recipes & Instructions will be in later blog posts***

As long as you have vinegar & baking soda in hand, you don’t really have an excuse to not keep your home clean the “green way”. I used to avoid powdering the carpet because carpet powder is 1) expensive 2)does not go a long way depending how big your space is 3)synthetic scent just annoys your allergies. By using only two products in their purest form, you cut the price and avoid allergies from acting up. Kudos to that!

 

Leave a Reply

